Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So the blog has just reached 4000 hits.

That is about 3999 more than I thought I would get. As you can imagine, I’m pretty elated. It also has over 50 followers. I don’t think I even have 50 friends, so I guess it must be going okay.

In other news, there was a postgraduate research conference in the department this week. The archaeology department here at Reading is part of a wider school called SAGES. Unfortunately it is not indicative of our profound wisdom and instead stands for the School of Archaeology, Geography and Environmental Sciences. A conference is held every year so that all of the PhD researchers get a chance to present their research and network.

Because I’m still in my first year and it is (rightly) assumed that I have no idea what I’m doing, I only had to produce a single slide. Second years do a poster and third years give a talk. It’s kind of a layer cake, in that respect.

Whilst I initially thought that it would be a waste of time, it was actually pretty interesting to try and condense my wild thoughts and ideas into a 300 word slide. Here’s what I came up with (click on it to make it bigger):

Matt Austin - Year 1 - PG Research Conference

Okay so the title sounds a little pretentious and it’s all very provisional, but I think it went down okay. It’s got some pretty Saxon shines and everyone loves purple. Especially Patrick:

The conference was a great way to meet new people and learn new things. I know almost nothing about geography, and I haven’t worn a lab coat since I was 17, so it was really interesting to hear about all the cool stuff going on in the school. The conference was a real showcase of young academic talent, with papers ranging from the depths of prehistory to modern issues like immigration and transport.

On a side note, it’s Friday afternoon and I think it might be naptime.

