Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

bannerThis week’s post is written as part of the Blogging Archaeology Carnival. This archaeology-wide blogging carnival  is the brainchild of Doug’s Archaeology  and has been highly successful in bringing bloggers together. The format consists of a monthly question to address, with January’s question being:

What are your best (or if you want your worst) post(s) and why? Compare and contrast your different bests/worsts.

As this blog is only about four months old, and this is only post number 12, there is arguably not much to go on. It seems sensible to begin with overall stats, though. Since late October, there have been 940 hits which equates to about 78 views a week. I don’t really have a frame of reference, but I think that’s pretty good for a new blog, especially with the Christmas period being, as ever, manic. My recent adventures into the Twittersphere should help bring the blog to the attention of more people, also.

Perhaps predictably so, the majority of readers have been based in the UK. However, there have been a high number of views from the US, Australia and Ireland. More generally, the blog has been viewed from all 6 continents of the world that are inhabited. I’ll get to work on including the Antarctic wildlife this year.

The post that has had the highest number of hits was the ‘How Dark were the Dark Ages?’. As the first post of the blog I presume this was largely due to people clicking the link on my facebook, but it is also probably because it is the sort of question people search on the internet. In either case, I guess it could be seen as a pretty good summary of the period, and the exciting potential of its study.

My favourite post, though, would have to be ‘Why you might be more interested in the Dark Ages than you thought’. This post sums up why I think studying the past, and specifically the early medieval period, is so important in understanding the modern world. Without the Anglo-Saxon migrations, there would be no England. The fact that few people seem to know this only encourages me to continue with this blog as a form of public engagement. I also really enjoyed writing ‘Why was Gildas so angry?’, if only because it is nice to study documents instead of archaeology every now and then.

But the award for the strangest blog post surely has to go to ‘Anglo-Saxons do the strangest things’.  As the second post on this blog it was perhaps a bit of a gamble to do something so tongue-in-cheek, but I think it paid off. There are enough archaeological blogs out there that are serious and academic. I’ve always enjoyed taking a slightly irreverent look at things, and I think it helps engage a wider audience.

Next week I’ll try and think of something interesting and witty to cover – for now, please leave any thoughts about your favourite post or what you would like to see this year in the comments box below.

Edit: You can see the other posts regarding this question here.

